The institutions and key personnel selected for this effort have a record of excellence in the areas of interest to the CVT. These researchers and educators are fully committed to the development of the next-generation of nuclear science professionals. We selected a diverse group of professors, at various stages in their careers, leading research groups in geographically distributed, large and small departments.

Sara Pozzi


Prof. Sara Pozzi is a Professor and the Graduate Program Chair in the Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences (NERS). She is the founder and leader of the Detection for Nuclear Nonproliferation Group at UM, consisting of 33 researchers including 14 Ph. D. students. Prior to her appointment at UM, Prof. Pozzi was a senior staff member at ORNL.

David Wehe

Chief Scientist

Prof. David Wehe is a Professor in NERS. His group conducts research in radiation detection and imaging systems, ultrasonic and optical sensing, sensor fusion, and novel mobility concepts.

Alexander Glaser

Thrust Area 1


Thrust Area 1: Treaty Verification: Characterizing Existing Gaps and Emerging Challenges. Lead: Princeton (A. Glaser); Contributing universities: all; Contributing labs: PPPL, ORNL, LANL

Alfred O. Hero III

Thrust Area 2


Thrust Area 2: Fundamental Physical Data and Data Acquisition and Analysis Techniques. Lead: UM (A. Hero); Contributing universities: UM (S. Pozzi), MIT (J. Fisher), Duke (L. Carin), NCSU (J. Mattingly); Contributing labs: LANL, ORNL, LLNL, SNL, PNNL

Zhong He

Thrust Area 3


Thrust Area 3: Advanced Safeguards Tools for Accessible Facilities. Lead: UM (Z. He); Contributing universities: UM (S. Pozzi, K. Kearfott, I. Jovanovic), UF (J. Baciak); Contributing labs: LANL, LLNL, ORNL, PNNL, INL, SNL

Milton Garces

Thrust Area 4


Thrust Area 4: Detection of Undeclared Activities and Inaccessible Facilities. Lead: UH (M. Garcés); Contributing universities: Columbia (P. Richards), UM (J. Lee), UW (P. Wilson), OSU (A. Farsoni); Contributing labs: LLNL, SNL, LANL, PNNL

Areg Danagoulian

Thrust Area 5


Thrust Area 5: Disarmament Verification. Lead: MIT (A. Danagoulian); Contributing universities: Princeton (A. Glaser), UI (C. Sullivan), Yale (F. d’Errico), UM (D. Wehe); Contributing labs: PPPL, INL, LANL, LLNL

Kim Kearfott

Thrust Area 6


Thrust Area 6: Education and Outreach. Lead: UM (K. Kearfott); Contributors: All institutions

Shaun Clarke

Assistant Director & National Laboratory Point of Contact

Dr. Shaun Clarke received a PhD in Nuclear Engineering from Purdue University in 2007. He is an Associate Research Scientist at the University of Michigan’s Department of Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, and has conducted research at Lawrence Livermore National Laboratory and Oak Ridge National Laboratory. Dr. Clarke has several years of experience in Monte Carlo modeling and analysis. His current research efforts are focused on simulation techniques for active-interrogation systems using high-energy photons for nuclear nonproliferation and homeland security applications. Dr. Clarke holds one patent and is author or coauthor of a large number of conference proceedings and journal papers.