Prof. Sara Pozzi



Curriculum Vitae

Professor, Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences, University of Michigan

Professor, Physics, University of Michigan

Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion, College of Engineering

Consortium Director, Consortium for Verification Technology

M.S. Nuclear Engineering at the Polytechnic of Milan, Italy, 1997

Ph.D. Nuclear Engineering at the Polytechnic of Milan, Italy, 2001

Professor Sara Pozzi earned her M.S. and Ph.D. in nuclear engineering at the Polytechnic of Milan, Italy in 1997 and 2001, respectively.  She is a Professor of Nuclear and Radiological Sciences and a Professor of Physics at the University of Michigan (UM). Her research interests include the development of new methods for nuclear materials detection, identification, and characterization for nuclear nonproliferation, safeguards, and national security programs.

Professor Pozzi is the founding Director of the Consortium for Verification Technology (CVT), a large consortium of 12 universities and 9 national laboratories working together to develop new technologies needed for nuclear treaty verification. In this capacity, she directs the work of 25 faculty members and over 250 students engaged in research projects within the CVT.

Professor Pozzi is the co-author of the Monte Carlo code MCNPX-PoliMi, which is being used at over 50 institutions world-wide. Her publication record includes over 400 papers in journals and international conference proceedings. She was invited to give over 80 seminars, both nationally and internationally. She has graduated 20 Ph. D. students who went on to develop successful careers at the national laboratories, academia, and industry.

In 2018, Professor Pozzi was named the inaugural Director of Diversity, Equity, and Inclusion (DEI) for the UM College of Engineering. In this capacity, she heads the DEI implementation committee and works to ensure that the students, faculty, and staff are increasingly diverse, everyone is treated equally, and everyone feels included.

She is the recipient of many awards, including the 2006 Oak Ridge National Laboratory Early Career Award, 2006 Department of Energy, Office of Science, Outstanding Mentor Award, 2012 INMM Edway R. Johnson Meritorious Service Award, 2012 UM Nuclear Engineering and Radiological Sciences Department, Outstanding Achievement Award, 2017 IEEE Distinguished Lecturer, 2018 Rackham Distinguished Graduate Mentoring Award. She is a Fellow of the American Nuclear Society and a Fellow of the Institute of Nuclear Materials Management.